Execution

Execution

by

, historical-fiction, netgalley, audiobook, historical-fiction, 2020, elizabethan, pigeon-books, pigeonhole, uk-based-historical-fiction, crime, 2020, Historical, Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, English History, Tudor Period, Spy Thriller

The sixth Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno: heretic, philosopher and spy. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom.
England, 1586.

A TREASONOUS CONSPIRACY
Giordano Bruno returns to England to bring shocking new intelligence to Sir Francis Walsingham. A band of Catholic Englishmen are plotting to kill Queen Elizabeth and spring Mary Queen of Scots from prison to take the English throne in her place.

A DEADLY TRAP
Bruno is surprised to find that Walsingham is aware of the plot, led by the young, wealthy noble Anthony Babington, and is allowing it to progress. His hope is that Mary will put her support in writing and condemn herself to a traitor's death.

A QUEEN IN MORTAL DANGER
Bruno is tasked with going undercover to join the conspirators. Can he stop them before he is exposed? Either way a queen will die; Bruno must make sure it is the right one.

Title:Execution
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Execution Reviews

  • Paromjit

    SJ Parris's latest addition to the Italian heretic, ex-priest, and philospher, Giordano Bruno series set in an Elizabethan England revolves around the Catholic Thomas Babbington's plot to depose the P...

  • Emma

    As a newcomer to the Giordano Bruno series, this dramatic retelling of the Babington Plot against Elizabeth I came as a welcome surprise. I'm sure reading the rest of the series would have given a bit...

  • Matt

    In the latest Elizabethan mystery from the desk of S.J. Parris, the reader sees Giordano Bruno thrust into the middle of another assassination plot on English soil. Not long after sailing from France,...

  • Emma

    I read the first in this series many moons ago but never continued the series, so I was little worried that I may be at a disadvantage going into the story. I need t have worried. From the very first ...

  • St Jerome

    This is the latest in this series about the renegade monk, philosopher and heretic Giordano Bruno and the treacherous goings on in Elizabethan England.Execution is an excellent work of historical fict...

  • Sarah-Hope

    S.J. Parris' Giordano Bruno mystery series is a treat for Tudor history buffs (and non-Tudor-buff mystery lovers, of course). Execution is a particular delight because it is built around one of the gr...

  • Kathy

    Giordano Bruno makes it back to London after a time in Paris as the opportunity avails itself to once again work for Walsingham who immediately plants him in a cell of Catholics working toward the goa...

  • Pheadra

    This is exactly how historical novels were meant to be written. Filled with intrigue, suspense, humour and more than a handful of colourful characters that at times I had difficulty keeping track of. ...

  • Alison

    An obsessive read. ‘Execution‘ by S. J. Parris is the sixth in her series with the Italian heretic Giordano Bruno. I read and discussed this on the Pigeonhole app with many other readers. A very c...

  • Amina Kara

    So before reading this book I wasn't too keen on the historical fiction genre, but then this book became available on the Pigeonhole app. I wasn't sure about signing up for it, but then reading the bl...