I Got a New Friend

I Got a New Friend

by

puppy-pals, , picture-book, baby-storytime, fiction, childrens, picture-books, picture-books, picture-book, animals, picture-books, picture-book, books-reviewed, picture-books, animals, picture-book, exploring-public-library, childrens, winnefox, picture-books, picture-books, picture-books, storytime, Childrens, Animals, Fiction

A sweet introduction to owning a pet that is perfect for readers of The Most Magnificent Thing and A Ball for Daisy.

When a little girl gets a new puppy, they have a lot to learn about each other. The new friends can be shy, messy, and sometimes get into trouble. They get lost, but they always get found. Their friendship may be a lot of work--but at the end of the day, they love each other!

Experience the excitement and mystery surrounding a new pet (and a new friend) in this joyful picture book from acclaimed author and illustrator Karl Newsom Edwards.

"Cheerfully ingenuous...Totally, infectiously ebullient."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

"A joyous look at the work and play that go into pet ownership and friendship."--Booklist

"The concise, cheery text gently explains what to expect when a newcomer joins the household, [and] the illustrations are cartoonlike and sweet. The curly-haired, brown-skinned little girl and the large-eared, spotted puppy make an adorable pair as they learn what it means to gain a new companion."--School Library Journal

Title:I Got a New Friend
ISBN:9780399557019
Format Type:

    I Got a New Friend Reviews

  • Abigail

    A tiny puppy comes to live with a little girl in this adorable picture-book from author/illustrator Karl Newsom Edwards, and the two new friends do everything together. The narrator observes that her ...

  • Emily

    Puppy and child are not too different when it comes to tracking in dirt, being messy eaters, loving playing, and needing the occasional bath. Sweet, sweet title with equally adorable little girl and r...

  • Elizabeth Moreau Nicolai

    Used for baby storytime and also for toddler storytime (theme adopting a pet). Super cute. I love the clear illustrations on the white pages and simple text. Worked very well for little bitties. They ...

  • Jeremy

    I appreciated the ambiguity regarding whether the text was about the girl or the dog....

  • Brindi Michele

    this is just precious! i love it <3...

  • Read  Ribbet

    Minimal words tell the story of a young girl getting familiar with her new puppy. Readers will see the parallels in the girl's and puppy's lives and behaviors and learn that friendship is a mutual fee...

  • Stefanie Kellum

    Basset hound books almost always get five stars. :) The twist is super cute too.*I read a digital ARC of this title from the publisher via Edelweiss....

  • Lauren Kramer

    I Got a New Friend by Karl Newsom Edwards tells the tale of a little girl who has just been given a puppy. At first, the puppy is shy and scared. The pint-sized pooch is afraid of her new surroundings...

  • Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*

    I Got A New Friend by Karl Newsom Edwards. PICTURE BOOK. Alfred A. Knopf (Random House), 2017. $17.00. 9780399557002BUYING ADVISORY: Pre-K, EL (K-3) - ESSENTIAL.AUDIENCE APPEAL: HIGHA little girl is g...

  • Barbara

    Brightly colored illustrations, crated with pencil and watercolor and then refined digitally accompany a familiar experience of making a new friend. The story is told as though it's coming from the pe...