Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy

Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Thought leader, visionary, philanthropist, mystic, and yogi Sadhguru presents Western readers with a time-tested path to achieving absolute well-being: the classical science of yoga.

The practice of hatha yoga, as we commonly know it, is but one of eight branches of the body of knowledge that is yoga. In fact, yoga is a sophisticated system of self-empowerment that is capable of harnessing and activating inner energies in such a way that your body and mind function at their optimal capacity. It is a means to create inner situations exactly the way you want them, turning you into the architect of your own joy.
           
A yogi lives life in this expansive state, and in this transformative book Sadhguru tells the story of his own awakening, from a boy with an unusual affinity for the natural world to a young daredevil who crossed the Indian continent on his motorcycle. He relates the moment of his enlightenment on a mountaintop in southern India, where time stood still and he emerged radically changed. Today, as the founder of Isha, an organization devoted to humanitarian causes, he lights the path for millions. The term guru, he notes, means “dispeller of darkness, someone who opens the door for you. . . . As a guru, I have no doctrine to teach, no philosophy to impart, no belief to propagate. And that is because the only solution for all the ills that plague humanity is self-transformation. Self-transformation means that nothing of the old remains. It is a dimensional shift in the way you perceive and experience life.” The wisdom distilled in this accessible, profound, and engaging book offers readers time-tested tools that are fresh, alive, and radiantly new. Inner Engineering presents a revolutionary way of thinking about our agency and our humanity and the opportunity to achieve nothing less than a life of joy.

Praise for Sadhguru and Inner Engineering

“Contrarian and consistent, ancient and contemporary, Inner Engineering is a loving invitation to live our best lives and a profound reassurance of why and how we can.”—Sir Ken Robinson, author of The Element, Finding Your Element, and Out of Our Minds: Learning to Be Creative

“I am inspired by Sadhguru’s capacity for joy, his exuberance for life, and the depth and breadth of his curiosity and knowledge. His book is filled with moments of wonder, awe, and intellectual challenge. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in self-transformation.”—Mark Hyman, M.D., director, Cleveland Clinic Center for Functional Medicine, and New York Times bestselling author

Inner Engineering is a fascinating read of Sadhguru’s insights and his teachings. If you are ready, it is a tool to help awaken your own inner intelligence, the ultimate and supreme genius that mirrors the wisdom of the cosmos.”—Deepak Chopra


From the Hardcover edition.

Title:Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Inner Engineering: A Yogi's Guide to Joy Reviews

  • Greg Swierad

    Inner Engineering is a book about technology that will help you achieve bliss by paying more attention to what’s going on within your body. I really enjoyed this book, because most of the things Sad...

  • Alok Mishra

    Some readers have pointed out the book is incomplete. Maybe. Some reader has pointed out he will seek a better way to live by himself. He should. The same reader pointed out 'Science is empirical.' We...

  • Vanita Kataria

    I was feeling preemptive separation anxiety towards the middle of the book, only to complete it and realize that the end is the beginning of unlimited joy! It's a must read for anyone who wonders why ...

  • Swaroop

    Irrespective of one's nationality and spiritual beliefs, this book is a must-read. It contains fundamental principles which can lead to joyfull and a fulfilling life....

  • Yelda Basar Moers

    "Your destiny is written by you unconsciously. If you have mastery over your physical body, fifteen to twenty percent of your life and destiny will be in your hands. If you have mastery over your mind...

  • Himanshu Modi

    This is my first real exposure to the phenomenon called Sadhguru. I had only briefly heard of him and thought of him as someone in the vein of Osho or Sri Sri Ravi Shankar... of whom I do not know muc...

  • C. Drying

    WHY'D YOU READ THIS BOOK?My boss gave it to me, and when your boss gives you a book, you’d better read it for brownie points if anything.DID HE GIVE IT TO YOU BECAUSE HE THOUGHT YOU WERE JOYLESS?Pro...

  • Sandra

    This book is Sadhguru’s instructions on how to improve your experience and the quality of your life, thus creating joy. Sadhguru is the founder of the Isha Foundation, headquartered in the hills in ...

  • Bhargavi Balachandran

    Having attended Isha's Inner engineering program many years back, I knew what the book would talk about in a broad sense. Several weeks after the program, I remember feeling extremely calm and kind, t...

  • Satish Sridharan

    A incredible self help book that will give you a lot of clarity about your body, soul and the mind. The book is written bearing in mind the contemporary, materialistic world and it's people. I read th...