Bride of a Distant Isle

Bride of a Distant Isle

Miss Annabel Ashton is a teacher at the Rogers School for Young Ladies in Winchester when she takes a brief visit to her family home, Highcliffe Hall at Milford-on-Sea. She believes her stay will be short but soon learns that she will not be returning to the safety of the school. Instead, she remains at Highcliffe, at the mercy of her cousin, Edward Everedge.

Annabel protests, but as the illegitimate daughter of a woman who died in an insane asylum, she has little say. Edward is running out of money and puts the house up for sale to avoid financial ruin. He insists that Annabel marry, promising her to a sinister, frightening man. But as the house gets packed for sale, it begins to reveal disquieting secrets. Jewelry, artifacts, and portraits mysteriously appear, suggesting that Annabel may be the true heir of Highcliffe.

She has only a few months to prove her legitimacy, perhaps with assistance from the handsome but troubled Maltese Captain Dell’Acqua. But does he have Annabel’s best interests at heart?

And then, a final, most ominous barrier to both her inheritance and her existence appears: a situation neither she nor anyone else could have expected. Will Annabel regain her life and property—and trust her heart—before it’s too late?

Title:Bride of a Distant Isle
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781476717890
Format Type:

    Bride of a Distant Isle Reviews

  • Beth

    After reading the first two novels in the Daughter of Hampshires series, I have moved Sandra Byrd onto my list of authors that I will always read. Bride of a Distant Isle is a delicious concoction of ...

  • Jamie

    One of the things Im really loving about Sandra Byrds current series, Daughters of Hampshire series (you know, besides fabulous writing and intriguing stories with mystery), is how she brings differen...

  • Staci

    What a good novel! I thoroughly enjoyed this second book of the Daughters of Hampshire series. I liked it even more than the first, Mist of Midnight.I enjoyed the history regarding the Catholic religi...

  • Bookish Ally

    I love Sandra Byrd! I have, to date, never read anything she has written half heartedly. Instead, I am so thoroughly transported by her historical fiction, that I find her books to be the kind which I...

  • Diane Estrella

    This story compelled me along from the first page to the very last. Few books are able to keep me on edge like this. This story is definitely suspenseful and even can be labeled a "thriller" during so...

  • Serena Chase

    Why you should read it: Fans of Victoria Holt and Charlotte Brontë will be enthralled by Byrds atmospheric storytelling, while those new to the Gothic style will find themselves transported to Hampsh...

  • Rebecca

    "Will you walk into my parlour?", said the Spider to the Fly, . . . . . . . . ."Oh no, no" said the little Fly, "to ask me is in vain, For whoever goes up your winding stair can ne'er come down again....

  • Margaret Chind

    Originally posted on Creative Madness Mama. Last year, I found myself captivated by the writing in 's first book in the new Daughter of Hampshire series. I knew from reading that one as well as others...

  • Colleen Turner

    Find my full review at http://aliteraryvacation.blogspot.com.I have long been a fan of Sandra Byrd's writing and have read and enjoyed all three books in her Ladies in Waiting series (To Die For: A No...

  • Karen R

    An intriguing tale of mystery, danger, and romance set in Victorian England. Recalled to her ancestral home Highcliffe Hall, Annabel Ashton leaves her teaching position thinking she will return soon, ...