Manic: A Memoir

Manic: A Memoir

by

, true-story, couldn-t-finish, memoir, mem-wars, 2009, memoirs, memoirs, books-on-kindle, memoirs-biographies-autobiographies, memoir, 2010, reviewed, 2010, Autobiography, Nonfiction, Psychology, Health, Mental Health, Biography, Biography Memoir, Self Help

"I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself."

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret—for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal."

In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty—from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers.

With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured. The clinical terms used to describe her illness were so inadequate that she chose to focus instead on her own experience, in her words, "on what bipolar disorder felt like inside my own body." Here the events unfold episodically, from mood to mood, the way she lived and remembers life. In this way the reader is able to viscerally experience the incredible speeding highs of mania and the crushing blows of depression, just as Cheney did. Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder—it takes us in its grasp and does not let go.

In the tradition of Darkness Visible and An Unquiet Mind, Manic is Girl, Interrupted with the girl all grown up. This harrowing yet hopeful book is more than just a searing insider's account of what it's really like to live with bipolar disorder. It is a testament to the sharp beauty of a life lived in extremes.

Title:Manic: A Memoir
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780061430237
Format Type:

    Manic: A Memoir Reviews

  • rachel

    To be clear: there are bipolar rich people and there are bipolar pretty people and there are bipolar pretty, rich people, and all of their experiences are as valid and worthy of attention as people fr...

  • Nelly

    OK, I got to chapter 14 out of 17. I just could NOT bring myself to finish this dreck of a book. How much more can I hear about the beautiful, pretty, petite, redheaded, virtually hairless, wonderful,...

  • Loripdx

    I asked my local library to order this book so I could read it. Boy, what an eye-opener! I sat down on my couch with this book last night...and 3 hours later, I was done with it.Amazing. I was practic...

  • Ruby

    There's nothing wrong with the writing in this memoir. It's not astounding, but it's clear and compelling. The description of bipolar disorder seems accurate (to one who is not afflicted, but has know...

  • Nenia ? I yeet my books back and forth ? Campbell

    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestFrom the first line in this memoir, I knew it was going to be good. As a psychology major, I've been introduced to a lot of memoirs about and...

  • Michelle

    2.5 stars. Memoir about a bipolar woman. Although she states from the beginning the reason the book is told in non-linear fashion, and though this format does indeed give a deeper context to her disea...

  • Emma Deplores Goodreads Censorship

    This is an intense memoir by a lawyer with bipolar disorder. Terry Cheney is very smart and successful but also very ill, and this book throws the reader into some awful experiences from page one – ...

  • David

    It feels too personal writing a review of such a revealing autobiographical book, as though criticizing any aspect of the writing would amount to criticizing the life of a person who has obviously suf...

  • Vincent Scarpa

    Not without its well-rendered, vivid, recognizable descriptions of mania and, more sporadically, its moments of intelligence and insight and wit, but overwhelmingly an unsatisfying read on multiple le...

  • Hannah

    At its best Manic offers insight, albeit through salacious voyeurism, into mental illness. My main issue with this book though is that I simply did not like the writer. By constantly referring to her ...