Quicksand

Quicksand

A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace: a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.

Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship.

With the same originality and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world—including shortlists for the Man Booker Prize and the Guardian First Book Award—Steve Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about fate, faith, friendship, and the artist's obligation to his muse. Sharp, witty, kinetic, and utterly engrossing, Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity.

Title:Quicksand
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781476797823
Format Type:

    Quicksand Reviews

  • Joachim Stoop

    7 years after the publication of one of my most beloved novels of all time 'A fraction of the whole' Steve Toltz comes with a follow-up. He definitely hasn't lost his sense of humour. He is still the ...

  • MJ Nicholls

    Toltz’s first accompanied me on a trip to the Orkney isles, and set the tone for a tempestuous time of bickering and freeloading in a bleak treeless landscape. Toltz’s second was read in a warm co...

  • Mandy

    Steve Toltz is certainly an original and inventive writer. He sets up a frenetic pace from the very beginning and never lets up on it through a madcap series of adventures of two larger-than-life char...

  • Lolly K Dandeneau

    I love Steve Toltz and couldn't believe he had finally written another novel. He is dark and disturbing in the way life is, where he keeps you laughing through the rotteness and horrors his characters...

  • Carina

    Reads like it was written by a brilliant author, the night before it was due. Some extremely strong sentences, fabulous observations, and many witty one liners that slap you in the face with their sha...

  • Alan Stuart

    couldn't finish it. got to 75% but decided life is too short and started to skim through the rest. even that was torture....

  • Gumble's Yard

    Bizarre, tragicomic novel ostensibly about two Australian’s, but really about friendship and failure. Liam is a perennially blocked writer and now a policeman (after enrolling in a police training s...

  • Snoakes

    This is a belter of a book. It's that very rare thing - a book that's described as funny that actually made me laugh. More than once. Out loud.Incidentally, have you ever wondered why funny books don'...

  • Adrian White

    Disappointingly all over the place, when you consider just how good A Fraction of the Whole was....

  • Marc Kozak

    Steve Toltz is a stand-up comedian stuck in a literary novelist's body. His brilliant first novel was 600 pages of non-stop one liners and observational humor, written as if Toltz was desperately empt...