She Flew the Coop: A Novel Concerning Life, Death, Sex and Recipes in Limoges, Louisiana

She Flew the Coop: A Novel Concerning Life, Death, Sex and Recipes in Limoges, Louisiana

The two main occupations in Limoges, Louisiana (population: 905), seem to be spreading juicy gossip and consoling the unfortunate with casseroles. And in this early spring of 1952, there is ample opportunity for both with sixteen-year-old and pregnant (by the Baptist minister) Olive Nepper, currently languishing in a coma after drinking pop laced with rose poison. But the plight of Olive and her family is hardly the only story spicing up the rumor mill in this small Southern community of unpredictable eccentrics, wandering husbands, and unsatisfied wives and few local sins will be put right by home cooking.

From Michael Lee West comes a beautifully rendered portrait of small-town Southern life, filled with humanity that brilliantly weaves comedy with dark calamity.

Title:She Flew the Coop: A Novel Concerning Life, Death, Sex and Recipes in Limoges, Louisiana
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780060926205
Format Type:

    She Flew the Coop: A Novel Concerning Life, Death, Sex and Recipes in Limoges, Louisiana Reviews

  • Joan Eisenstodt

    And the story goes on .. this time, recipes included. A book I did not want to end.. or to which I wanted a sequel....

  • chanceofbooks

    This is the perfect book for fans of Steel Magnolias and Fried Green Tomatoes and other great triumphs of Southern drama/comedy literature. It's a sprawling novel featuring almost a dozen POV's and a ...

  • Haley Mcphail

    Highly recommended for anyone with a crazy southern family....

  • Heidi

    A fun summer read - this book also contains yummy recipes in between the chapters...

  • Crystal

    I laughed out loud so much I read this a second time!...

  • C.

    When Michael Lee West writes, she writes in a way that places the reader inside the story. When I started reading, She Flew The Coop, it was like riding in a car and seeing the sign - Welcome to Limog...

  • Tasha enderby

    My dear good friend pointed out to me just earlier that this type of book is not my reading style and you know when I thought about it she was right. I was very surprised that by the time it was over ...

  • Lesley

    I read the irst 50 pages. It is well written, but I was raised in the South in the 1950's, so it is a little bit TOO REAL for this reader. I like to be entertained - not reminded!! LOL...

  • Janice Wrona

    didn't like this one as much as West's other books that I've read, but it was pretty entertaining! A bit dark and explicit at times, but easy to read!...

  • Denise

    Sophie, I liked the comparison of Sophie's beaten biscuits and her life – I don't think you read too much in it – I think it was right on. And it was accurate with Burr gone she has become somethi...