historical, , audible, edwardian, regency-romance, 2010, Romance, Historical, Mystery, Historical Romance, Fiction

Maggie Macleod was weary of life with a soul sickness that ate into every fiber of her being. In a mad way, it did not seem strange to her that she should be on the way to High Court to stand trial for the murder of her husband. Her marriage seemed to have been one long dreary desert lit by flares of crueltyÉ


In this whirlwind series, Marion Chesney brings us spirited, independent women who are at once bewitching, beguiling and determined to have their say and make their mark on both their world and the world at large, be it within their social circle or extending beyond. With their arms wide open, these women are absolutely original and unforgettable as are the tales in which they are featured. Here is life in all of its folly and foibles in a dizzying place where dreams are both shattered and made.


From 1977 to the early 1990s, Marion Chesney wrote over one hundred romance novels. Now writing as M. C. Beaton, she is the bestselling award-winning author of two internationally successful mystery series - HAMISH MACBETH and AGATHA RAISIN. She lives in the United Kingdom.

Edition Language:English
Format Type:

    Maggie Reviews

  • Grace

    Maggie is the only daughter of an abusive shopkeeper hailing from one of the outer Scottish islands. One day, she catches the eye of a burly police inspector and is sold into marriage. It is a horrify...

  • Margreet Heer

    Nice mix of romance and crime....

  • jacki yong

    Maggie This is a tale of the predicaments of the poor and bullied and those out to exploit them. Maggie is not your normal heroine....

  • Joan

    Was hard to find on goodreads bc I wasn’t looking for Jennie Tremaine n...

  • Karen Darling

    Typical M.C. Beaton/Jennie Tremaine book....

  • Gniewek

    Great StoryI loved this book. Only one thing bothered me was when the 2 women made a stupid, stupid mistake. Otherwise this is quite a different type of story and very enjoyable. ...

  • P.

    What begins as an interesting, if grim, story just unravels due to a hero who is no hero, a shell-shocked heroine, an evil, evil villain, and a wandering plot....

  • Damaskcat

    Maggie is treated like a chattel by her father and he hands her over to Inspector Macleod who marries her and moves her to his home Glasgow. For a year Maggie endures his brutalities until he dies of ...

  • Tasneem

    Maggie is accused of murdering her horrid husband. When she marries Peter, everyone is convinced that she will hang. But of course, she doesn't. What follows is how she falls in love and how they try ...

  • Lynne Tull

    This is one of the few books/series I would read again. These stories of Marion Chesney started me on my adventure...reading Regency Romance/Novels/History! There is not a set of books that will teach...